Built for the first Lord Berwick in 1785, Attingham Hall and its beautiful parkland were owned by one family for more than 160 years. As their fortunes rose and fell they proved themselves to be spenders, savers and saviours - providing a fascinating story of love and neglect whose mark still stands in Attingham’s rooms today. Discover the traces of the family story throughout the mansion, from the flashy but flawed Picture Gallery roof that contributed to the bankruptcy of the second Lord Berwick, to the prized paintings of the cattle that the fifth Lord loved. Attingham’s saviours, the eighth Lord and Lady, began restoration work that lives on in the Attingham Re-Discovered project. This project aims to bring the mansion back to life, and in 2015, visitors can see our conservation work in action in the Picture Gallery, as we conserve and restore the lower levels of this unique space prior to the reinstallation of paintings in 2016.
- National Trust
All information is drawn from or provided by the venues themselves and every effort is made to ensure it is correct. Please remember to double check opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit.
Is this your Venue? log in to update any incorrect or missing information.